i See YOU….

I feel like I’m inside of this petri dish. I remember them from highschool. There is a gooey substance inside and you lay what you want to study…in the gel. Then you watch how it intermixes with the air and the light and other factors. I guess. Shady memory, only lets me see the bits the light is shining on. In the same way that I thought my waterdrop mushrooms were a petri dish for me…..I feel like a petri dish for the world. As if this is what God wants. I guess that’s why I share so much of me. But I’ve done that from the start here. No, this is more. This is me…..being whizzed along on the fasttrack…………dropping tiny jewels, as I learn them. I can’t and don’t want to share every intimate thing….and this relationship I am having with the forest???? Oh honey….its exceedingly intimate. I am easily stimulated. A life. A death. An attack. A whisper. A call. An interloper. One of my favorite things about the jungle….I can’t really show you. I told you about it once. Once is not enough. Its magic. If you ever doubt……that there is something greater???? Come to the jungle. Watch with me…..as we are greeted by select flora. At first, you may think….oh….it was the wind! Until……………..there is no wind. Until you finally sponge it into you………that that leaf……………..is dancing! It is dancing only because it is happy to see you. I swear. I don’t lie. It is a remarkable thing. It reminds me of a puppet show. Some…..are waving so hard it’s like a long lost cousin waving wildly……dancing up and down…..next to its sleeping neighbors………….as it seeks to be seen. All beings want to be seen.

 

I am their witness. Some, as I’ve said, hide or fly away, but so so many bugs……will just stand there patiently…no matter what I do….until I feel I’ve gotten a good enough shot. Today, one let me pick up the leaf and situate it better, against a prettier more flattering backdrop. The internet calls it photobombing. I, think it is the universe, wanting to see itself. Like there is a beetle so shiny red, that I was looking for my reflection in him. Aside from needing love and touch….there is one more ruling factor in humanity…..we need to be seen. I SEE YOU. Think back to childhood. What did you want most in the world…..to have that bike? Or to have your parents see you ride that bike? Did you see me? Did you see me? Look at me! All of that…translates to……………the woman sitting alone, eating because she is so lonely……………the man jacking off to the internet model because she says his name……………oh, well, the man comming when you say their name for that matter!!!………………the artist who sits with paint splatters so beautiful they dwarf the art, the art unseen by eyes………the child who is put in the trash can by the resident bully. SEE ME. Or…….please, someone see me, just for a second, I won’t take up much time.  From the terrorist with his suicide vest, saying Look Ma, no Hands…..to the machogunweildinglionkillers, who want to hang these poor animals on their walls so people will SEE THEM.

  

 

 
   

  

  

  

  

   

  

  

  

It’s a primal need. What good did it do Adam to have Eve….if he didn’t even know she was there? He had to see her first. And in order to like her….he had to see her better. And for love…well, he had to take his green glasses off and put on some pink rosie ones, so he could appreciate all the many nuances…..the many ways she was not like him. What was there in her that he needed to see? Why did God make her? Why did God make that child with the head falling backwards and the twisted feet? What does that boy need to see….or others need to see about him? I can tell ya my guess though about that boy, even though this holds for any disability……this, hurt to look at, with his head hanging upside down, down his back, and one can only SEE HIM…..and know LOVE. This young man lives and is happy. An extreme example of what do I have to complain about???? If, like with touch…..we are not seen…………………we wither and die like a flower who was born under a bush……….no light could reach…..no soul could see way back there in the dark.

 

I’d like to ask a favor. It’s a biggie. Every time you see a frowning person…a sad person….a lost person….a scared person…….SMILE. That’s all. Smile….look them in the eyes……and smile. See them. ON buses…..back seats of cars whizzing by on the highway……street corners……cubicles…..Offices….tanning salon….bars…..hospitals……OH gosh…..smile at the elderly!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Please!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Please….as a society……while we seek to take better care of the children and their minds…..please….let’s not forget the elders. Those who did it already!!! Those who have already endured what you and I will most likely go through in our lives. Those who have endured the most pain for the simple reason that they’ve been here longer. Let’s touch their hearts. Let’s seek careers with them….instead of leaving them to the unwanted and angries of this world. Sometimes……a simple smile says it all. A smile can change a heart. And if it can change a heart….it can change an outcome. Signing off at Quebradas, Costa Rica where you can learn to sleep with a snake in the house, the beetles have a CANDY paint job, and most bugs want their mugshot taken. Lovelove. PS….don’t forget about the Kings and Queens and the movie stars and red carpet. Its a need. Maybe if we fill it…..people won’t feel so empty….and go seeking other ways to be seen….like chopping heads off. LOVElove.

   
    
 
   
   
 

Leave a Reply

