The Pups know I’m sick……………………………

I’m all layered up for the cold weather. It’s late, dark and cold. I have my heater on and a blanket on my lap. I’m also layered in thermal underwear….with a hat on my head and a scarf around my neck. I can hear the heater blowin. It makes me feel sad. I know that many Native Americans are cold tonight…probably suffering from way colder temps than me….and it makes my heart hurt. It gets bitterly cold in the Dakotas folks. I pray for their warmth…..

 

The photo from yesterday of the 3 cats? Well, the one laying in the chair was Gypsy…the elder kitty……the black one who dared to get onto said chair…was Gucci…a kitten, and the grey one looking up with such envy and admiration…at Gucci’s bravery…is Wiz. But the most priceless face in that shot….is Gypsy’s….poor dear. Lol…..Gyps was sleepin and Gucci decided to introduce herself in a big way….she crawled off the tiny table, onto the rocker arm. Then she was basically stuck. I knew it could end in a fight but I couldn’t stop myself from taking the photos. Thing is…Gypsy also knew she was stuck, so she grinned…haha, or grimaced….and beared it. Animal interaction is so cool, so funny, she says with three kittens on her lap sleeping…..and on a yuckier note, if there were a person in the room….right about now….I’d be singing the words……weather pain, weather pain. Nobodys here so I’m telling You. The barometer is doing something wacky and making me hurt. L

 

I felt that baby…to make sure that she was warm…..to make sure that she was better off with the sweater than without. I seriously wonder about things like that. Am I making her colder by adding the sweater? Am I preventing her heat from forming? She was nice and toasty. I gave tons of hay and staggered it around. I’m gonna need another bale before the weekend…hmmm, not sure how. Hubby comes home from work around 8pm each night…..and the stack of hay is high….even if it wasn’t……I can’t lift it. It’s way heavier than the Tractor Supply bales and I’d never get it a foot off the ground. You know me….I’ll figure something out.

I was just on my Timeline, on Facebook….all of a sudden, the profile photo of me….struck me….All of it struck me. Imagine that…..me, looking pretty, on a page….of my words…….It’s a shock half the time when I realize where I am in life. I’m a goat farmer….a blogger….and a friend to quite a few! So very different than I ever imagined. I often get shocked by realizing wow….that’s me? That’s really me, posting photos of herself with animals…..that’s really me, talking to people I can’t see, yet who I know are reading my words. I shake my head a lot. 😀 ……..ooohie……not lookin forward to goin outside for Blue’s balltime. Think I just might be able to sleep early tonight. It’s been a rough night, coughing wise and breathing wise. Night night sweet ones………1:03am=4.

 

As I approached the pen Star was in…Etta was walking around….no sign of Star. Deep down, you know she’s just asleep in the house….but as you unlock the gate, relock the gate and take those tentative steps forward…….it’s still 5 more steps to see if she’s alive…….and she is!!!!! Lol, sometimes I regret having that plywood sheet divider….but hey, it at least separates it into two stalls…..or 3 if needed. Course the plywood warps, so every year I have to get another sheet cut if I need that third stall.

 

This has been an I can’t breathe day, and as y’all know….breathing is kinda necessary. Had to drive to Dr. knowing it would be dark for the drive home. Nightblind……..Spirit provides……Funky sky all lit up and not a single car going my direction on 290. Not one….the whole way.………wow I did it. Cathy came with me, which means that 2 sets of goats didn’t eat. She was supposed to stay and feed them but her husband told her to come with me. I’m so sorry my babies. All the pregnant gals did get feed, just not extra hay….dang………on a cold night. How did the pregnant gals get fed? Well, after she decided to come…..we were headed to the car…knowin it was getting dark……but no….let’s see if Star does a stretch first….and you feed them real quick while I see about Star. She did indeed do a stretch. Reason I was worried is cuz when I went down today to take her splints off, she nursed and nursed and nursed…didn’t seem to be getting satisfied. Etta is a very young mommy, so she’s not producing a whole lot of milk. I think I’ll try to supplement her tomorrow. Her little ankles look good…..will make sure tomorrow.

 

I keep forgetting. I’ve had black goats here before, but I’ve never seen this……I was holding her the other day….and the sun was hitting her and I saw glittery sparkles of color….a prism…..from her black hair….anywhere I looked where the sun was hitting. I know that black is all colors with the absence of light. And white is all colors with the presence of light……well…………………..I saw all colors in her black…..when the light was added. Too friggin cool man.

 

When we went to feed those girls real quick before we left…it was very obvious that the Pups knew I was sick. Geezer especially seemed to want to help me somehow. Bubba sommehow got through the gate into the L so he could be with me. These animals are As for the Doc……I dunno. She wants me to come back for blood tests. Gave me theoph something to open my lungs…..which are so tight. So……I will take them, and drink the water…yuk……..just let me breathe!!! Alright folks……this is a short one tonight. Hehe…..some will like that! Just to let you know……Gypsy kitty was in my lap today and Wiz climbed on top of her and went to sleep. 😀 Then Smooch came and laid down!………and then Gucci……and I escaped without any blood!!! Lol, lots of growling, but no action. Signing off at YeeHaw Ranch.

20121211-192128.jpg

20121211-192139.jpg

20121211-192208.jpg

20121211-192159.jpg

20121211-192224.jpg

20121211-192445.jpg

20121211-192514.jpg

20121211-192520.jpg

20121211-192609.jpg

20121211-192648.jpg

20121211-192757.jpg

4 thoughts on “The Pups know I’m sick……………………………

  1. Here feet look great. Don’t supplement her unless she is not cat stretching, Mom will only make as much milk as her baby will eat and if you supplement her, Mom will start producing less milk. Mom is switching from Colostrum to milk, try some alfalfa, it should help, or some extra feed.
    Glad you went to the Drs. Hugs, It is important to breath.

Leave a Reply

