twinkle twinkle LITTLE STAR………..yup, a baby goat

Misconceptions are so easy to come by. And when we mis-concept…….things can go wonky. Tonight I had such an occurrence, until I thought it through calmly, did my thing…..and in the end, realized……that what I was perceiving as a slight…..was simply…..not what I’d first thought. How many other times has this happened and I didn’t catch it? Probably millions throughout my life. Assumptions. One of the roots of evil. Assumptions…presumptions…..I know what you’re thinking…….he/she doesn’t like me cuz they didn’t Like my FB thing…..we make these assumptions and act on them…when I’ll bet half the time its not true at all. What an awareness! I’m digging this one. Lessons in life. Gotta love it. Don’t assume. Ask. Probably a great mandate for life. 😀

 

That moment when the kitten stirs, and starts to clean herself in her sleep…disturbed….and your hand reaches up and folds the little paws back to her chest….you see the sleep once again take effect and then….the sigh. The release of all worries. Priceless.

 

When you’re sittin on the toilet and hear a scream……run around in a whirly dervish kinda way…saying…what do I need….what do I need….then grabbing a towel, the 20 seconds from battery death Iphone and cigarettes….. gain your calm so as not to overwork the pups…hear the straining screams as you approach…get the chain off the gate…walk into the pen and see…………..a bitty black baby….laying all alone….but alive and moving…………………………..Priceless! lol, course that will only hold IF she’s still alive in the morning. She. She is subjective at this house. I’ve been known to be wrong. At this point in time though…..I believe it’s a girl. She was born around midnight….to Miss Etta. When I finally settled a bit….and had gotten Etta to see what it was she had just done…and she was showing motherly signs….I stepped out for a moment…looked up and saw the Pleides. The Seven Sisters. None of those names seemed right. Then I remembered that as my Summer and I were chatting on the phone earlier….she saw a shooting star……then she saw another. So…..her name is Star. Little Star, if I ever bother to register her…..but Star.

Wow…Etta is being a very good mom, talking…staying right with her….running others away….coming running when baby cries…..all except nursing. She had the baby at midnight. It’s now 2am. I have a choice. As you know…..Etta is not extremely friendly with me…..so she’s not very happy with me, but I had to grab her by the horns and hold her still while I placed the baby back there. I had no luck the first time……more willingness to stand on the second and she stood for the third, sorta…while I milked both nipples. I kept steering baby’s mouth to the teat…and finally we had about 10 seconds of success. Then Etta revolted against me holding her. So…..here’s my choices. Take the baby from the apparently good mommy who wants to be a mommy…….and feed her here with powdered colostrum…..guys…remember, I’m sick. Or….I can trust that she finally got the message and knows what the baby needs. I’m going to choose door No.2. I placed that baby back there…oh…..maybe 20 times. Plus the baby did latch on for a few seconds. Am I taking a risk? Of course. Everything is a risk. All I know is……she is trying her little heart out to be a good mommy…..and I have faith. The blog ate my comment yesterday telling you that I’m now sick to my stomach….so night night sweet people. 2:11am

 

Well hello good people. As you can guess from that intro……the baby is alive and doing exceptionally well. Based on the movements in the pen when I looked out my window upon waking…..I figured she was……but when I got in the pen and rounded that corner to look in the goat house…..there she was….standing there looking up at me, wagging her tail. She toddled around a moment and then I said….Hey Star!!! She looked straight at me. I’m telling ya….this isn’t the first time….somehow these wee ones remember their names……even only a few hours old. After feeding….I sat on the house ledge/barrier and chatted with Star. Then I crawled in with her. I held her and I petted her and I played with her tiny hooves…desensitization…..and took photos, of course. It’s been a really cloudy day, so none of the photos are great. Sorry.

 

Also…..chalk it up to fever brain…told ya…I’m not firing on all cylanders at the moment. Anyway……if you count 5 months from June 6…..that’s Nov 6. Which I did do….problem is….it’s December. Nope……looks like Happy is carrying a Moonee baby after all!!!! She has another whole month to go….so, considering her size and her difficulty getting up and down….I’m gonna say that she is for SURE carrying twins. Looks like I was wrong about Etta. Hehe. Well, hubby opened the legstand for the light so I have it down there….just need to carry wires to plug with when needed. Used to just stay there….hubby dismantled them all. ;( All of last night’s shenanigans were done with a fading flashlight. So……just like all the goats get jealous when I pay attention to Georgia…..Georgia gets jealous when I pay attention to Star. She is trying to head bash her!!!! Damn…..only gets that chance though when I’m in there…..cuz Etta is sticking with that baby and only leaves her if I’m there…..hehe, guess I rate now!!!!

 

So….the first baby of 2013………….was born in 2012. Hehehe. I’m excited, relieved and happy. All good words. All good things to be. Had a bit of a discussion with hubby today heading into town………discussed the venom in his voice when he talks to me and asked him if he wants me to leave. He said no…..you just don’t listen. You’re always telling me we didn’t have the conversation. I said well…..all my life…all everyone’s life…there are times when they rehearse a conversation and eventually think they actually had the discussion out loud, when you didn’t. That happens here every now and then…especially lately. So…he doesn’t want a divorce. Fine. Be nicer to me. Told him the venom comes at me….and I shrink. So, nothing resolved…..but he may or may not treat me nicer. It’s as if he’s angry. But at what? Maybe life? I dunno….cuz it’s been over a year of the same. Well, here’s to a kinder existence here, in my chair……while signing off at…..YeeHaw Ranch! Little Star says…..eh eh eh. 😀

20121208-181016.jpg

20121208-181033.jpg

20121208-181043.jpg

20121208-181118.jpg

20121208-181102.jpg

20121208-181139.jpg

20121208-181128.jpg

20121208-181326.jpg

20121208-181348.jpg

20121208-181411.jpg

20121208-181510.jpg

20121208-181549.jpg

6 thoughts on “twinkle twinkle LITTLE STAR………..yup, a baby goat

    • Turns out she got pregnant as a baby while her mom was being bred. Only way that makes sense. What’s wrong with dec babies? At the show they said to have them born in winter n they are healthier do I did breed that way this time but now I’m sweatin it

      Sheri Lee YeeHaw Ranch

      • Ya it is and if I didn’t overdo it this ye with babies… I want to try a march breeding. That way the experts get the winter babyhood they want but they don’t have to be born in the friggin snow. Births in sept. 🙂 everyone say impossible. That dares me on

        Sheri Lee YeeHaw Ranch

Leave a Reply

