The Good Stuff…….

tam hat and shawl

 

 

I just had to explain a quote to my son. The Picasso quote was …. “it takes a very long time to become young”. Here’s what I told him. Well, first you’re a kid and everyone tells you what to do. Then you turn 18 and no one tells you what to do and you screw up and get all wonky and make multitudes of mistakes. In your 40’s and 50’s you finally figure it out, what Life is all about, and realize what you need to be doing instead. Once you do that, it is so freeing, that you do indeed become a child again, but a different kind of child. A free child. I, am a free child. 51 and proudly young at heart.

 

I’ve been talking and talking about shearing and the need to shear and the amount of time it takes to shear and the amount of fiber I get after I shear, but what I haven’t said is…..the harvest. All this talk about the procedure and the time and the effort…..what I fail to tell you is, about the harvest. Most peoples harvest is a crop, something green growing from the land, but my harvest also comes from the land, it’s just not green. It is white and red and black, gray, tan, brown and pinto and blue. Some of the pintos curls come out with the candycane effect. It is the hair right off the backs of my babies. Sometimes when they are cold. That hurts me, I try to avoid it. The harvest is the most precious softness. When I talk about skirting, it is with raw curls. But when it’s washed….oh man, I just want to hold it to my face. I look around me and there are bags everywhere of this softness. The bags in here are my bags, clean and ready for my own personal use and there are many and madness.

 

What a fun day, thanks to my son

 

 

Then there are the unfinished bags all over the house. The I’d be better as a rug yarn bags, the I’m great but haven’t been skirted yet bags and then there’s the best of the best bags. I’m having such a hard time figuring out pricing. My friend said $40 for first clip, $25 yearling and $20 adult. I’m thinking $10 for Rug quality sounds about right. I know folks who are getting $70 per pound, craziness folks. How’s anyone supposed to make a shawl or a sweater at those prices……. or $7 an ounce….sorry but that’s an awful expensive shawl. I know I know, I just pissed some people off, sorry.

 

Well, the kittens are warming up. It takes awhile folks. Wiz is laying on the arm of my chair right now and Gucci, the shy one, let me pick her up without clawing deathly at my clothing and I then walked up to the hole in the kitty tower and let her crawl off of me and into the hole. Nice and gentle. Easy does the deed. Easy does the night. The wonderful night of life with all it’s weirdness and pitfalls. Go forth and prosper!!!!! Night night. 😀  1:33am  But wait. I haven’t done it justice. The harvest of these curls is the ying to my yang. It’s the sweetest gift, the most treasured of possessions. Maybe she (she being the old fleece buyer that didn’t work out), was right. Maybe I am too attached to my curls. Yes I want to be paid a decent price for them but also maybe there is a hint of ….these are my babies, I can’t part with them. But no. I have around 8 fleeces ready to go, all skirted to the nines. I’m fixing to get this thing going, getter started, movement. Yes.

 

Modeling day

 

 

The reward after washing the curls in the sink for hours for just one pound, for me at least, is great. The washing isn’t such a burden, just gotta remember that I’m doing it and change out the water repeatedly. But as I said, once it’s clean and dry…..clouds…..softness and clouds. I want to touch it, feel it against me, smell it. The curls of my babies soothe my soul….may they soothe others as they buy them and create….whatever. 😀  Night night.

 

We sheared Firefly today, son of Donna and Marshall and twin of Levi. We didn’t realize till after we’d gotten started that his lower half was wet from walking in the wet weeds. Too late to stop, so I did the best I could think of….moved the stanchion over to under a low hanging oak branch, stood on it and hung the bag of damp curls on it. Puppy proof drying.  😀  Took an hour, and thanks to Mea, who sheared a goat an an Expo and took a whole series of photos of the deed…..I learned a better method for under the arms/legs. Ha, don’t laugh….here’s the trick…….lift the leg.  Hey, I told you not to laugh!!! Would you believe that never ever occurred to me. Shoot, made getting that armpit area really easy, as well as the area in the backend between the two back legs. Probably not all of the goats will let me do it, but my boys are so good.

 

Lovey grins……………it’s a grin fest……….had a couple grinners yesterday too

 

 

We let Moonee, Doc and Opti out while we were shearing but partway through, Jesse decided that Firefly needed food, cuz he’s headshy. Nobody asked me and I wasn’t paying attention…busy clipping, and sure enough, they wanted Firefly’s food, so he had to put them up. Oh ya, speaking of the clippers, they are basically owie proof. I don’t think I can cut them with these clippers. Jesse likes to try to cut himself with them to prove it can’t be done. Goofnut. But they had greenies for about half an hour, better than none. Don’t know how she did it, but my little Houdini, Yoki, was out wandering the L today. I patched up all the fence holes, so go figure. I’m thinking that some of the goats are figuring out what I’m doing, cuz I swear they are starting to pose for me.

 

Grinning Gandhi

Why does he get out and we don’t???

Some of my pretty pintos. Etta and Bella

 

 

We let Moonee, Doc and Opti out while we were shearing but partway through, Jesse decided that Firefly needed food, cuz he’s headshy. Nobody asked me and I wasn’t paying attention…busy clipping, and sure enough, they wanted Firefly’s food, so he had to put them up. Oh ya, speaking of the clippers, they are basically owie proof. I don’t think I can cut them with these clippers. Jesse likes to try to cut himself with them to prove it can’t be done. Goofnut. But they had greenies for about half an hour, better than none. Don’t know how she did it, but my little Houdini, Yoki, was out wandering the L today. I patched up all the fence holes, so go figure. I’m thinking that some of the goats are figuring out what I’m doing, cuz I swear they are starting to pose for me.

Pretty Milky baby

Stud muffin Wy

 

 

Somehow I got confused. Somehow my husband has been home for two weeks while I thought it was only one. Poor guy didn’t get any breakfast, fruit or lunch sent with him today cuz I didn’t have a clue it was time for him to go back to work already. Also, I’m happy to report that I may have found a workaround for the slow internet. I noticed last night that late at night I have internet, so last night I uploaded what photos I had available and got them all settled in at WordPress as a Draft. Bottom line…..if it keeps working like this….we got our captions back and the photos throughout instead of all at the bottom. And on that note………YeeHaw and signing off.

 

Georgia on my Mind

The Lovey reminder photo……what he looked like at birth…..with the head stuck in place……….as promised…the sticky note worked, just couldn’t get it up till tonight

4 thoughts on “The Good Stuff…….

  1. Nice to see You and your cozy things … Your hair has sure gotten long! just like a MamaWillow tree eh? Oh and that poem…. I love it.. AND id have to say, sometimes if were lucky, we dont have to wait til we are 40 to know who we are and start really living! good thing! Love

Leave a Reply

